3 March 2021 NZST (2 March EU/USA) – FREE Webinar: Understanding the Gifted child brain

In this webinar Clinical Psychologist, Chantal Hofstee explains the neurodiversity of the Gifted child brain. She will answer the most commonly asked questions of parent’s of Gifted children and there will also be time for discussing strategies and for Q&A.

Webinar 2. Gifted Child Brain
3 March 9AM NZST
= 2 March in Europe
– UK (WET) 8pm
– Central Europe (CET) 9pm
– Eastern Europe (EET) 10pm

Webinar 3. Gifted Child Brain
3 March 3PM NZST 
= 2 March in the USA
9pm GMT-5 (EST)
8pm GMT-6 (CST)
7pm GMT-7 (MST)
6pm GMT-8 (PST) 

 Join live via Zoom or watch on-demand

SIGN UP HERE
Chantal

BY CHANTAL HOFSTEE

Clinical Psychologist, Published author, Workshop and course facilitator and mother of 3 (2 of them gifted).

Online course: Understanding the Gifted child brain

This 4 session course for parents and educators, will equip you with insights into the Gifted child brain and practical strategies based on these insights, to help improve their mental health, social skills and resilience to create a happier life for them and the whole family.

This course is now available ‘on-demand’. If you want to stay updated on when the next online group runs please email chantal@renewyourmind.co.nz

Start date: On-demand
Time: 1,5 hour per session
Duration: 4 online sessions
Cost: $150 pp / $250 per couple
 

SIGN UP HERE

Giftedness is asynchronous development in which advanced cognitive abilities and heightened intensity combine to create inner experiences and awareness that are qualitatively different from the norm. This asynchrony increases with higher intellectual capacity. The uniqueness of the gifted renders them particularly vulnerable and requires modifications in parenting, teaching and counseling in order for them to develop optimally. (The Columbus group)

Giftedness often comes with:

– High sensitivity both sensory and emotionally (prone to sensory and emotional overstimulation )

– Perfectionism (prone to anxiety and self-criticism)

– High levels of empathy (prone to depressive feelings)

– Increased levels of creativity (struggling to work ‘inside the box’)

– Advanced reasoning and thinking abilities (a brain that never stops)

– Advanced humor and language abilities (not speaking like peers do which can make them feel different)

– Intense curiosity and appetite for learning (easily bored and intellectually understimulated)

– Strong sense of justice (issues with friendships)

– Ability for sustained focus (obsessive over hobbies, struggles with transitioning)

After you have typed in some text, hit ENTER to start searching...